Many Stamford students were honored Tuesday night for a variety of achievements by the Board of Education and Superintendent Joshua Starr.

Three Stamford teams finished atop of the Connecticut Odyssey of the Mind Competition at the end of March. The Rippfield team, from Rippowam and Scofield schools, won the competition. Stark School finished second, and Cloonan was third. The Rippfield and Stark teams qualified for the World Finals to be held at the end of May in Maryland. The Rippfield team members are Elijah Armstrong, Mariel Barocas, Julia Fruithandler, Taylor Garland, William Hunt, Olivia Martinez and Meghan Rowley. Stark is made up of Armstrong Antoine, Enart Dibra, Patrick Fleischer, Mateo Giraldo, Cameran Neumann, Elizabeth Pacifico and Rachna Tungaturthi. The Cloonan team includes Alexandra Cali, Alec Camhi, Gabrielle Freeda, Anna Freeda, Erin O’Grady, Tomas Pinto-Leite and Noah Zussman.

Academy of Information Technology & Exposition senior Rudy Camacho was honored for being named as one of two Youths of the Year by the State of Connecticut African Affairs Commission.  Rudy will be honored in Hartford next month.

Four Stamford High School thespians as well as the Strawberry Hill Players were recognized for accolades earned at the New England Drama Festival and the Connecticut Drama Association State Festival. Erica Blumrosen, Katherine Breen, Jennifer Sapozhinkov and Ruby Welkovich were honored Tuesday night.

Skyler Ross, a junior at Westhill High School, was named one of two high school students in the state who will go to Washington, D.C., in June as a part of the Ronald Reagan/Close Up Youth Conference. Skyler, Jackie Schechter and Annie Cohen were on hand to represent the Westword, Westhill’s student newspaper. The Westword won four awards at the 4th Annual Connecticut Daily Newspaper Association High School Journalism Contest.

What honors have your children received? Send photos and a description of what they won to reporter Anthony Buzzeo at to up on